Earth Sciences Division (ESD) Department of Energy (DOE) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

ESD News and Events Watch ESD on Vimeo

« Insect Ecosystem Contains Biofuel Clues | Main | O’Brien Not Lost in the Fog »


ESD Scientists Win NERSC Team Award

Source:  Carl Steefel

Nersc_sergi_carlThis past June (2014), a research team that included two ESD scientists (Sergi Molins and Carl Steefel) was one of 10 teams at national laboratories and universities awarded a total of 382.5 million hours of computing time at the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC). The team at LBNL, consisting of Computational Research Division scientists David Trebotich (the awardee) and Brian Van Straalen along with ESD scientists Molins and Steefel, was awarded 50 million hours on the NERSC computers for the proposal “Chombo-Crunch: Modeling Pore Scale Reactive Transport Processes Associated with Carbon Sequestration.” The team has developed a first-of its-kind simulation of pore-scale flow and reactive transport that allows for unprecedented spatial resolution and process fidelity.  The simulations have been applied to the problem of geological CO2 injection and sequestration, although the approach is considerably more general and can be applied to a range of subsurface fluid-rock interaction processes.  

Their research has been carried out as part of the DOE Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC) for Nanoscale Control of Geologic CO2. Important additional support came in the form of SciDAC-e ARRA funding that builds on years of algorithm and software development at LBNL within the SciDAC (ASCR) program in DOE. The Center is a collaborative effort led by Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory that includes three other national laboratories and four universities.

To read further, go to:

To read related past stories, go to: