Earth Sciences Division (ESD) Department of Energy (DOE) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

ESD News and Events Watch ESD on Vimeo

« New Funding for EFRC–NCGC | Main | Extreme Rain: Comparing Climate Models »


Prestigious AGU Award to Don DePaolo

Source: Susan Hubbard and Dan Hawkes

Don_agu_award_blogThis past week, former ESD Director Don DePaolo, now LBNL’s Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Science, was selected as this year’s AGU Harry Hess Medal recipient. As described by AGU President Carol Finn in her message to DePaolo, this award is given annually to one honoree in recognition of "outstanding achievements in research on the constitution and evolution of the Earth and other planets." Established in 1984, the Hess Medal is named in honor of Harry H. Hess, who served multiple terms as AGU president and made many contributions to geology, mineralogy, and geophysics.  

DePaolo is being recognized for his groundbreaking research on the geochemical structure of the Earth’s mantle using neodymium isotopes, related work on the isotopic and trace element chemistry of oceanic volcanoes, and his research on the origin of granitic igneous rocks like those in the Sierra Nevada of California and the Transantarctic Mountains of Antarctica.  

DePaolo will receive his award at the annual Honors Ceremony and Banquet held on December 17 at the 2014 AGU Fall Meeting in San Francisco. 

Congratulations, Don!