Earth Sciences Division (ESD) Department of Energy (DOE) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

ESD News and Events Watch ESD on Vimeo

« Fracking To Dispose of Nuclear Waste? | Main | Manga: Indonesian Volcano Will Soon Die »


ESD Scientists Win LDRD Awards

Source:  LBNL TABL and Dan Hawkes

Total_ldrd2014ESD was well represented among Fiscal Year 2014 Laboratory Directed Research and Development (LDRD) award winners, as announced this week (12/16/2013) by Berkeley Lab Director Paul Alivisatos. The list of ESD awardees (and the titles of their winning projects) is as follows:

Nick Bouskill    Developing a Mechanistic High-latitude Biological Soil Carbon and Nitrogen Cycle Module for Site, Regional, and Global Land Models

Eoin Brodie    Integrative Mapping of Soil Heterogeneity at the Microbial Scale

Romy Chakraborty    High-throughput Isolation and Functional Screening (HIFS) of Microbes Relevant to Today’s Carbon Cycling and Bioenergy Needs

Jeff Chambers    Tropical Forest Ecosystems under a Changing Climate

John Christensen    Isotropic Probe of Ion Migration Processes in Li-ion Batteries

Tim Kneafsey    A Mesoscale Study of Hydrologic Properties of Shales

Lara Kueppers    Using Experiments and Numerical Models to Examine Ecosystem and Land Management Interactions with Atmosphere and Climate

Peter Nico    Quantifying the Mesoscale Dynamics that Control Natural Organic Matter Conformation and Reactivity

Jiamin Wan    Nanoparticle-Stabilized Supercritical CO2 Foams: Developing Novel Microemulsions for CO2-Enhanced Oil Recovery

Congratulations to you all!

To read more about the awards, go to:

For the full list of LBNL award winners, go to: